School Board

Joel Niemeyer, President

District: 2
jniemeyer@colo-nesco.k12.ia.us

Jon Cutler, Vice President

District: 2
jcutler@colo-nesco.k12.ia.us

Levi Bappe

District: 2
lbappe@colo-nesco.k12.ia.us

John Fuller

District: At Large
jfuller@colo-nesco.k12.ia.us

Brad Kohlwes

District: 1
bkohlwes@colo-nesco.k12.ia.us

Justin Jedlicka

District: 2
jjedlicka@colo-nesco.k12.ia.us

Traci Nessa

District: 1
tnessa@colo-nesco.k12.ia.us


The Colo-Nesco School District welcomes your interested and invites you to attend our school board meetings. Our board officers have the leadership, vision, dedication and are entrusted with one of the most important responsibilities that can be assigned to a citizen: ensuring that our students in our district reach high levels of educational achievement.

A primary focus of the Board of Education has been and is to create an academically challenging and healthy environment for the children attending Colo-Nesco.

An official meeting is the only means by which we, as a board, can carry out our legal duties or exercise our legal powers. These meetings provide an opportunity for creative and constructive decision-making and offer an opportunity for the public and school district staff to establish a formal dialogue with us.

The Iowa constitution requires the Legislature to provide for the maintenance and support of a thorough and efficient system of free public schools. In response to this constitutional mandate, local school districts, governed by boards of education, have been established. The School Board has complete and final control over local school matters within limits set by laws and regulations. Our Board of Education is a policy-making body whose decisions are carried out by district administrators. The Board functions as a whole, and its authority lies within the will of its majority. No Board member has the power to act independently.

Colo-Nesco has a seven member board who are elected to a four-year term by district voters. Elections are held every two years on the second Tuesday in September. Board members receive no pay for their services. Thank you to all of the past, present and future officers who are committed to serving our district and it’s students.